Another Wish

Two movies, from the seventies, when I was a teenager, keep coming back on television.
The first is Benji, which I’ve probably seen 20 or 25 times and will never, ever, tire of seeing and the second is Saturday Night Fever, which ranks up there, near the former.

One of the things, I wish would return, is the styles of 1977 – 1979, when discos ruled. I mean, I have never been able to return to appreciating a jacket, without the collar of the shirt being outside, on the jacket lapels.

Then, when I stop and realize that the actors, who played John Travolta’s homeboys, are all in their 70”s, now, I find it hard to imagine finding another set of guys, who can do what they did, in the late ’70’s.

Thus, I have to watch that movie, over and over and hope someone will make a remake, the way someone already remade the Footloose movie, which was made about five years after John Travolta and Karen Lynn Gorney strutted their stuff, in that discotheque. “Then too, the cast would have to be younger, meaning you couldn’t expect the two, above: mentioned, actors to be as svelte, on the dancefloor, at they were, back then.

Personally, I don’t know if this can be anymore than a pipedream, but i is my pipe dream and I’ll hold onto it for a little while longer!

Leave a comment